Professor Irma Mosquera Valderrama

    Professor Tax Governance and PhD Dean at Leiden Law School, The Netherlands

    • Chair Tax Governance
    • PhD Dean Leiden Law School
    • Jean Monnet Chair Holder EUTAXGOV (EU Tax Governance)
    • Lead Researcher ERC GLOBTAXGOV Project

    Irma Mosquera Full Professor Tax Governance and PhD Dean at Leiden Law School (Leiden University), the Netherlands.

    She is also the  EU Jean Monnet Chair Holder on the topic EU Tax Governance (EUTAXGOV), and Lead Researcher of the European Research Council (ERC) Funded Project that investigates Global Tax Governance (GLOBTAXGOV).

    She received her PhD (cum laude) in 2007 in the Netherlands. She was also a Fulbright Scholar (PhD research) at New York University, and the University of Florida (Gainesville), the United States. Before joining Leiden, she was working as  tax adviser (PwC, Hamelink & Van den Tooren), lecturer (University of Utrecht, Erasmus University, the Hague University of Applied Sciences) and postdoctoral researcher (International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation  IBFD), the Netherlands.  She was also a  member of the international research project entitled “Sustainable Tax Governance in Developing Countries through Global Tax Transparency” (DeStaT), financed by the Research Council of Norway.

    Her areas of expertise are international tax law and comparative tax law in developed and developing countries and more recently exchange of information and BEPS related issues in developing countries.

    She is also a member of the Reference Group (Policy & Operations Evaluation Department (IOB) Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs) evaluating the Dutch government policies and activities to strengthen tax systems in developing countries in the period 2012-2019. She is a member of the International Law Association Study Group on International Tax Law and Member Council for International Multidisciplinary Cooperation of Mendel University in Brno, Czech Republic. She is also a member of the International Fiscal Association and member of the Dutch Fiscal Association.

    Contact details