Annual Scholarship Round: DMRC call for PhD applications for 2019

DMRC PhD scholarship topics for 2019

We are looking for promising PhD candidates to undertake projects that align with the DMRC’s overarching mission to conduct world-leading research for a creative, inclusive and fair digital media environment. Applicants with excellent academic track records or equivalent professional research experience may be eligible for competitive PhD scholarships in QUT’s Annual Scholarship Round to undertake study with us.

We welcome expressions of interest for projects that directly address the DMRC’s research priorities of creativity and innovation, inclusion and diversity, and trust and fairness, and we are calling for projects that specifically address the following priority PhD topics:

  1. A critical assessment of the empirical evidence for echo chambers and filter bubbles in social media
  2. Bias in algorithmic governance
  3. Challenges of digital inclusion: access, diversity, participation, and skills
  4. Digital media, location data, and everyday negotiations around geoprivacy
  5. Digital transformations in journalistic practice
  6. Diverse vernacular and popular cultures of digital media
  7. Diversity and digital dating cultures
  8. Diversity and inclusion in the videogame industry
  9. Indigenous tourism and digital narrative strategies
  10. Innovation in news media organisations in response to digital media
  11. Labor, equality, and gender in the film and television industries
  12. Progressive online communities, with particular reference to Muslim or Australian Indigenous communities
  13. Trust in the digital economy
  14. Using digital methods to analyse the circulation of rumours, misinformation, and ‘fake news’ in social media
  15. Using digital methods to map data flows in social media environments
  16. Youth uses of and trust in news and information in the social media age

How to apply

All applications must go through an Expression of Interest process, which closes on 10 September 2018. To apply,

  1. check the application requirements and eligibility for QUT’s annual scholarship round
  2. prepare a CV, writing sample, and 2-page research proposal using this document template, and
  3. complete the online Expression of Interest form by 10 September 2018. If you are unable to access the online form, please email for a Word version.

Expressions of Interest close: 10 September 2018

Final applications due: 30 September 2018

Supervisors and supervisory interests

  • Assoc. Prof. John Banks: videogames industry, consumer co-creation
  • Prof. Axel Bruns: social media, journalism studies, citizen journalism, Internet studies, media and communication, user-led content creation
  • Prof. Jean Burgess: civic engagement, diversity and inclusion in social media environments, feminist and LGBTQ politics, platform governance and platform studies, issue mapping and controversy analysis, everyday digital media use
  • Assoc. Prof. Susan Carson: cultural tourism, literary and cultural trails, digital applications, Indigenous tourism, Australian studies
  • Dr Elija Cassidy: digital diversity and inclusion, everyday digital media use, digital dating/hookup apps, digital LGBTQ cultures, online safety and harassment, participatory reluctance, cultures of non-use and resistant appropriation, digital diasporas
  • Prof. Stuart Cunningham: media industries in transition; digital platform studies; creative industries; media convergence; media, arts, communications and cultural policy
  • Assoc. Prof. Michael Dezuanni: digital and media literacy, digital inclusion, children’s digital cultures, media education and media arts
  • Prof. Terry Flew: creative industries, globalisation and international trade, media convergence, media and citizenship, media in Asia, media policy
  • Assoc. Prof. Stephen Harrington: emergent forms of journalism, entertainment, political citizenship
  • Dr Brendan Keogh: video games, game studies, creative industries, game development, creative labour, digital media, informal labour, game industry, new media
  • Ariadna Matamoros Fernández:  Platform governance and platform studies, digital methods, popular cultures of digital media, race and racism on digital platforms, online harassment, misinformation/disinformation
  • Assoc. Prof. Peta Mitchell: locative/mobile/geosocial media, media geography, digital ethics, digital diversity, critical approaches to data, data literacy, everyday digital media use
  • Dr Kylie Pappalardo: copyright, intellectual property, intermediary liability, open access, online governance, regulation, digital media
  • Prof. Matthew Rimmer: intellectual property, digital copyright, clean technologies, and climate change, media and information technology law
  • Assoc. Prof. Angela Romano: cultural diversity and journalism, journalism and democracy, journalism in developing countries, public journalism, civic journalism and deliberation, media representations of refugees, women in the media
  • Dr Mark Ryan: Film, television, and screen genres; Australian film and television; film and screen industries; health and screen media; blockchain and screen production
  • Dr Kevin Sanson: media industries, globalization, creative labour, creative industries, film/television studies
  • Dr Aljosha Karim Schapals: journalism studies, political communication, media and democracy, election reporting (Brexit), fake news
  • Dr Christina Spurgeon: advertising studies, co-creative media, community media
  • Assoc. Prof. Nic Suzor: platform governance; internet regulation; open knowledge, open access, and free culture; digital copyright
  • Dr T. J. Thomson: visual communication, especially in mediated or networked contexts, such as journalism and social media; visual literacy; visual sociology; visual self-representation; image culture
  • Prof. Patrik Wikström: digital creative economy, cultural economics, music, computational social science