Annual Scholarship Round: DMRC call for PhD applications for 2020

DMRC call for PhD scholarship applications

Please note, the DMRC expression of interest process for QUT’s 2020 Annual Scholarship Round has now closed and will reopen again for the 2021 Annual Scholarship Round in May/June 2020.

We are looking for promising PhD candidates to undertake projects starting in 2020 that align with the DMRC’s overarching mission to conduct world-leading research for a creative, inclusive and fair digital media environment. Applicants with excellent academic track records or equivalent professional research experience may be eligible for competitive PhD scholarships in QUT’s Annual Scholarship Round to undertake study with us.

We welcome expressions of interest for projects that directly address the DMRC’s research priorities of creativity and innovation, inclusion and diversity, and trust and fairness. We are also calling for projects that specifically address the following priority PhD topics linked to funded DMRC research projects:

  1. Transformations in screen industry development and distribution
  2. Local and regional game development cultures
  3. Platform regulation and communications policy
  4. Digital media, location data, and geoprivacy
  5. Smart cities, algorithms, and privacy by design

How to apply

All applications must go through an Expression of Interest (EOI) process, which closes on 1 September 2019. The purpose of the EOI process is to identify whether we can match prospective applicants and proposed projects with supervisors, and begin the process of developing the full application. To submit an EOI,

  1. check the application and eligibility requirements for QUT’s annual scholarship round
  2. review the priority topics above and supervisory interests below, but please avoid contacting potential supervisors directly—you will nominate potential supervisors for your project via the EOI form in step 4.
  3. prepare a CV, writing sample, and preliminary research proposal using this document template, and
  4. complete the online Expression of Interest form by 1 September 2019. If you are unable to access the online form, please email for a Word version.

Expressions of Interest close: 1 September 2019

Final applications due to QUT: 30 September 2019

Supervisors and supervisory interests

  • Assoc. Prof. Dan Angus: computational methods for social science and humanities research, algorithmic culture, social media, data journalism, information visualisation, speech and language processing
  • Assoc. Prof. John Banks: videogames industry, consumer co-creation
  • Prof. Axel Bruns: social media, journalism studies, citizen journalism, Internet studies, media and communication, user-led content creation
  • Prof. Jean Burgess: platform studies, algorithms and automation, critical digital methods, online subcultures, feminist and LGBTQ politics
  • Assoc. Prof. Susan Carson: cultural tourism, literary and cultural trails, digital applications, Indigenous tourism, Australian studies
  • Dr Elija Cassidy: digital diversity and inclusion, everyday digital media use, digital dating/hookup apps, digital LGBTQ cultures, online safety and harassment, participatory reluctance, cultures of non-use and resistant appropriation, digital diasporas
  • Prof. Stuart Cunningham: media industries in transition; digital platform studies; creative industries; media convergence; media, arts, communications and cultural policy
  • Assoc. Prof. Michael Dezuanni: digital and media literacy, digital inclusion, children’s digital cultures, media education and media arts
  • Prof. Terry Flew: creative industries, globalisation and international trade, media convergence, media and citizenship, media in Asia, media policy
  • Prof. Marcus Foth: urban informatics, smart cities, human-computer interaction, sustainability, community engagement, design, blockchain
  • Dr Timothy Graham: social network analysis, social theory, social media analytics, natural language processing, machine learning
  • Assoc. Prof. Stephen Harrington: emergent forms of journalism, entertainment, political citizenship
  • Dr Jenny Zhengye Hou: strategic communication in the digital age, public relations theory and practice, intercultural communication, fake news, disaster, risk and crisis communication
  • Dr Brendan Keogh: video games, game studies, creative industries, game development, creative labour, digital media, informal labour, game industry, new media
  • Prof. Amanda Lotz: media industries, internet-distributed media, television/screen studies, transnational media flows
  • Dr Monique Mann: surveillance, privacy, algorithmic justice, biometrics, technology and regulation
  • Dr Ariadna Matamoros Fernández:  Platform governance and platform studies, digital methods, popular cultures of digital media, race and racism on digital platforms, online harassment, misinformation/disinformation
  • Assoc. Prof. Peta Mitchell: locative/mobile/geosocial media, media geography, digital ethics, digital diversity, critical approaches to data, data literacy, everyday digital media use
  • Dr Benjamin Nicoll: media history and historiography, platform studies, game studies, critical theory of technology, media and cultural studies
  • Dr Kylie Pappalardo: copyright, intellectual property, intermediary liability, open access, online governance, regulation, digital media
  • Prof. Matthew Rimmer: intellectual property, digital copyright, clean technologies, and climate change, media and information technology law
  • Assoc. Prof. Angela Romano: cultural diversity and journalism, journalism and democracy, journalism in developing countries, public journalism, civic journalism and deliberation, media representations of refugees, women in the media
  • Assoc. Prof. Mark Ryan: Film, television, and screen genres; Australian film and television; film and screen industries; health and screen media; blockchain and screen production
  • Assoc. Prof. Kevin Sanson: media industries, globalization, creative labour, creative industries, film/television studies
  • Dr Aljosha Karim Schapals: journalism studies, political communication, media and democracy, election reporting (Brexit), fake news
  • Dr Christina Spurgeon: advertising studies, co-creative media, community media
  • Prof. Nic Suzor: platform governance; internet regulation; open knowledge, open access, and free culture; digital copyright
  • Dr T. J. Thomson: visual communication, visual journalism, journalism studies, self-representation, visual literacy, visual sociology, image culture, mobile media production and distribution, everyday digital media use
  • Dr Tess Van Hemert: media industries, gender equality and diversity, screen distribution and exhibition, film/television studies, film festivals
  • Prof. Patrik Wikström: digital creative economy, cultural economics, music, computational social science