International Communication Association membership elects three DMRC researchers as officers

The International Communication Association (ICA) membership selected three DMRC researchers as officers in its 2021 election.

They include Drs Elija Cassidy and T.J. Thomson, both senior lecturers in the School of Communication and chief investigators in the DMRC, and Godwin Simon, a PhD candidate in the Centre.

The LGBTQ Studies and Media Industry Studies Divisions elected Cassidy and Simon as their respective international liaisons, positions charged with advancing the cultural and geographical diversity of the Divisions’ memberships.

The Visual Communication Studies Division elected Thomson, who has served since 2019 as the Division’s international liaison, as its secretary, a position that supports the group’s administration and helps manage its communication channels.

All three officer positions are for a two-term that begins after ICA Paris in 2022 and continues until ICA Gold Coast in 2024. Full election results can be found here.

The International Communication Association, headquartered in Washington, DC, was founded in 1950 and boasts more than 4,500 members across more than 80 countries. It is the peak body for the scholarly study of communication and seeks to advance this by ‘encouraging and facilitating excellence in academic research worldwide’.

Congrats, Elija, T.J., and Godwin!