Doctoral Thesis Excellence!

Warmest congratulations to two of our outstanding doctoral scholars from the School of Creative Practice for their recent recognition in the QUT Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Awards.   Established more than a decade ago, the award promotes excellence in postgraduate research in Australia and help develop and support a vibrant research culture both within QUT and nationally.  The two winners for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in the Creative Industries are:


Ella Jeffery

Thesis – Dead Bolt: Unhomely renovations and contemporary Australian poetry.

Principal – Dr Lesley Hawkes

Associate – A/Prof Sarah Holland-Batt


Susan Cake (pictured)

Thesis – Narrative comedy screenwriting: Facilitating self-directed, transformative learning.

Principal – Dr Phoebe Hart

Associate – Dr Sean Maher

External Supervisor – Mr John O’Grady


Congratulations to Ella, Susan and their supervisors as well as the QUT Digital Media Research Centre‘s two Dean’s Commendations Ariadna Matamoros-Fernandez and Debbie Bargallie alongside their supervisory teams.