Future Materials Symposium 2022 Program



8:45 – 9:00

Registration GP-P-5-Concourse (space outside P514)

9:00 – 9:15

Session chaired by Dmitri Golberg

Opening Remarks Professor Troy Farrell, Executive Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Ana Deletic, Executive Dean, Faculty of Engineering

9:15 – 9:45

Guest speaker 1: Dr Vanessa Lussini – Reserve Bank of Australia (PhD graduate 2019)

9:45 – 10:15

Guest speaker 2: Dr Jawahar Nerkar – Director Battery Technologies, Magnis Energy Technologies
(QUT Research Fellow 2014-2021)

10:15 – 10:25

Housekeeping for session streams – locations and timing

10:25 – 10:40

Morning Tea GP-P-5 – Concourse (space outside P514)

Oral Presentations: Stream 1 GP-P514

Oral Presentations: Stream 2 GP-P419


Session chaired by Tatheer Zahra

Session chaired by
Laura  Delafresnaye Broqua

10:40 – 10:55

New XRD application in CARF: Pair Distribution Function

Tony Wang

High-Throughput Synthesis and Screening of Broad-Spectrum Polymeric Antivirals

Paul Denman

10:55 – 11:10

Copper-doped Ni1-xO
thin films as hole transport layer for perovskite solar cells

Sepideh Madani

Novel antimicrobial agents that target biofilms

Audrey Ndukwe

11:10 – 11:25

Flexible thermoelectric films prepared by magnetron sputtering

Boxuan Hu

Exploring advanced mass spectrometry techniques for enhanced characterisation of supramolecular materials

Michael Pfrunder

11:25 – 11:40

Water-Soluble Substrate for the Growth of Few-Layer MoS2
Nanosheets for Silicon Composite Anodes in Lithium-Ion Batteries

Ifra Marriam

Rigid Polyurethane Foams from Agricultural Waste

Lalehvash Moghaddam

11:40 – 11:55

Optimizing Li+ transport in LLZO solid electrolytes

Kade Parascos

Optimising the twist in TADF OLED materials: how much twist is too much?

Thomas Flanagan

11:55 – 12:30

Lunch and networking GP-P-5-Concourse (space outside P514)

12:30 13:00

Session chaired by Bryan Tuten
Guest speaker 3: Dr Supre Ponnappa – Australian Science Policy Fellow Department of Climate Change, Energy,
the Environment and Water (PhD graduate 2020)

13:00 – 13:30

Guest speaker 4: Dr Harikrishnan Magarabooshanam
Structural Engineer, Scottsdale Construction Systems (QUT PhD graduate 2020)

Session chaired by Mahboobeh Shahbazi

Session chaired by Hendrik Frisch

13:30 – 13:45

Using Materials technology to Mitigate the Blast
Response of Underground Transport Tunnels

Buddhika Balasooriya

Investigating Complex Mixtures of Metallo-Supramolecular Cages using Ion Mobility Mass Spectrometry

Therese M. Fulloon

13:45 – 14:00

Behaviour of shutter systems exposed to bushfire conditions
Birunthan Perinpalingam

Programming Photodegradability into
Vinylic Polymers via Radical Ring- opening Polymerization

Phuong T. Do

14:00 – 14:15

Recovering materials from
energy devices for electrocatalytic applications

Arshdeep Kaur

Radiation activated drug delivery for in vivo release

Julian Coulthard

14:15 – 14:30

Investigation of Bipolar Isoindoline Nitroxide Materials for Nonaqueous Redox Flow Batteries

Benjamin Loomans

Mapping oxidation state and structural dynamics in thin
film electrocatalysts

Rusha Kamar

14:30 – 14:45

Afternoon Tea GP-P-5-Concourse (space outside P514)

14:45 – 15:20

  • Pitch Battle GP-P514, Session Chaired by Nathan Boase

Jashnav Pancheti: Explosive spalling of fibre cement boards in fire

Jessica Bradford: Locking the Gate: Radical Quenching of Photocycloadditions

Peter Maschmeyer: Development of a novel class of spatiotemporally controlled photochemistries that mimic biochemical signalling

Astrid Larin: Flavonoid-Nitroxide Hybrid Antioxidants

Lisa Pieper: Thin steel cladding profiles as protective building envelopes in bushfires

Jashnav Pancheti: Effects of cladding materials on the fire resistance of buildings#

15:20 – 16:00

  • Poster Presentations at GP-506/A

Mumtahina Akter: Natural Aggregate Replacement with Rubber Crumb in Concrete Filled Steel Tubes under Bending

Chao Zhang: In Situ TEM for 2D materials: Optomechanical Properties of MoSe2 Nanosheets

L. M. Grimm: Merging zeolite-based artificial receptors (ZARs) with macromolecular architectures: Towards
the development of rapid diagnostic tests for small biorelevant molecules

Yat Yin Tang: Design, Synthesis and Biological Evaluation of Novel PolQ Inhibitors for the Treatment of Ovarian Cancer

C.R. Onyeagba: Nanomechanical and surface properties of co-sputtered Ti– and Zr-based thin film metallic glasses

Suaad Alomari: Nitrogen, phosphorous co-doped holey rGO cathode for Li-ion capacitors (LICs)

David Marshall: Investigating highly reduced metallosupramolecular complexes in the gas phase

Naomi Weir: Synthesis and Biological Evaluation of Nitroxide Based Anti-inflammatory Drugs and Profluorescent Agents

Seyed Meghdad Ghaseminia: Experimental investigation on in-plane cyclic shear behaviour of reinforced masonry walls with different reinforcement detailing

Tianyi Cao: Advances in the design and assembly of flexible thermoelectric device’

16:00 – 17:00

CMS 2022 Awards Ceremony and closing remarks – Session chaired by Kathryn Fairfull-Smith