Future Materials Symposium and Centre Awards

The Centre’s annual Future Materials HDR/ECR Symposium and Centre Awards was held on 28 November. The event delivered the opportunity for our next generation of Materials Science researchers to showcase their research and connect with each other, as well as recognise outstanding contributions from Centre participants.

Congratulations to our symposium awardees:

Best Oral Presentations:

  • Ifra Marriam, “Water-Soluble Substrate for the Growth of Few-Layer MoS2 Nanosheets for Silicon Composite Anodes in Lithium-Ion Batteries”
  • Thomas Flanagan, “Optimising the twist in TADF OLED materials: how much twist is too much?”
  • Therese M. Fulloon, “Investigating Complex Mixtures of Metallo-Supramolecular Cages using Ion Mobility Mass Spectrometry”
  • Arshdeep Kaur: “Recovering materials from energy devices for electrocatalytic applications”
  • Best Poster: Seyed Meghdad Ghaseminia, “Experimental Investigation on in-plane cyclic shear behaviour of reinforced masonry walls with different reinforcement”
  • Best Pitch: Peter Maschmeyer: “Development of a novel class of spatiotemporally controlled photochemistries that mimic biochemical signalling”

Congratulations to our 2022 Centre Award recipients:

  • A/Prof. Jennifer MacLeod, A/Prof. Zhanying Zhang & Prof. Chang Yan for Excellence, Cross-disciplinary Team
  • QUT Wind & Fire Lab – Prof. Mahen Mahendran, Dr. Anthony Ariyanayagam & Jashnav Pancheti for Excellence, Impact and Translation
  • Mahnaz Davoudzadeh Gholami, Excellence, Early Career Researcher
  • Joshua McDonald, Excellence, Higher Degree Researcher
  • Son Tung Vy, Excellence, Higher Degree Researcher
  • A/Prof. Sarina Sarina, Excellence, Leadership and Engagement
  • Dr Hendrik Frisch, Excellence, Leadership and Engagement
  • Dr Sandra Wiedbrauk, Excellence, Diversity and Inclusion
  • A/Prof. Soniya Yambem, Excellence, Diversity and Inclusion