Clayton Adam Florence Wilson Award inaugural recipient

Laura is the first recipient of the BSRG’s inaugural ‘Clayton Adam Florence Wilson Award’ PhD Scholarship. During her candidature she will develop an EMG-informed musculoskeletal multibody model of the spine. Using this model she aims to quantify intervertebral disc pressure, intervertebral joint moments and spinal muscle recruitment during habitual motor tasks. Laura commenced her PhD candidature with the BSRG in March 2019 after being awarded a Master of Science in Medical Engineering from the University of Stuttgart, Germany.  Her PhD will be supervised by Professor Peter Pivonka and Dr Paige Little. She had previously worked with Dr Little as part of her Masters Studies, on a project to combine two different modelling methodologies to predict subject-specific spine mechanics.